Georgia Builds Regional Planning Councils

Gov. Sonny Perdue, Lt. Gov. Casey Cagle, and Speaker of the House Glenn Richardson have slected the members of Georgia's regional water planning councils, which will have a key role in the statewide water planning process.

"The individuals we have selected are solution-oriented and will provide visionary water resource planning," Perdue said. "These appointments reflect a diverse group of Georgians, and each one has a unique skill set and knowledge base, which will allow the councils to focus on water resource issues while also addressing the state's economic needs."

The Comprehensive Statewide Water Management Plan, approved by the General Assembly in 2008, created 10 water planning regions. Each of these regions will have a water planning council to represent the water interests unique to their respective regions.

Each council consists of 25 members, three alternates and an ex-officio member from both the House and Senate. The councils include representatives from agriculture, forestry, industry, commerce, local governments, water utilities, regional development centers, tourism, recreation, and environmental groups.

The councils will oversee preparation of regional water development and conservation plans for their planning regions. These plans will focus on both water quantity and water quality issues and will include forecasts of future water supply and wastewater treatment needs.

Under requirements of the plan, the governor selects 13 members of each council and one alternate member who will attend all meetings and vote if needed to establish a quorum. The lieutenant governor and the speaker of the Georgia House of Representatives select the remaining council members including non-voting ex officio members from the Senate and the House.

For more information, visit