EPA Says Nine Indiana Counties Meet Health Standard for Smog

On Oct. 11, EPA Region 5 officials announced that the agency has approved the state of Indiana's request to redesignate Boone, Hamilton, Hancock, Hendricks, Johnson, Madison, Marion, Morgan and Shelby counties in central Indiana to attainment of the national health-based, eight-hour outdoor air quality standard for ozone (smog).

EPA said complete, quality-assured outdoor air monitoring data for 2004 to 2006 shows the area meets the ozone standard.

"This victory for public health and the environment is the result of an effective collaboration between local officials and state and federal partners," said EPA Region 5 Administrator Mary A. Gade. "The people of central Indiana will benefit from improved air quality which will lead to better respiratory health."

The agency also approved the state plan to continue meeting the eight-hour, health-based ozone standard through 2020 and the state's motor vehicle emission budgets included in the plan.

For more information, contact EPA Region 5 at http://www.epa.gov/region5.

This article originally appeared in the 10/01/2007 issue of Environmental Protection.

Featured Webinar