Call for Nominations for 2008 National Wetlands Awards

Nomination forms for the 2008 National Wetlands Awards Program are now available. The National Wetlands Awards Program honors individuals who have demonstrated extraordinary commitment to the conservation and restoration of our nation’s wetlands. The deadline for submitting nominations for the 2008 Awards program is January 15, 2008.

The 2008 National Wetlands Awards Program will honor individual achievement in six categories: Education and Outreach, Science Research, Conservation and Restoration, Landowner Stewardship, State, Tribal and Local Program Development, and Wetland Community Leader. Organizations and federal employees are not eligible. Awardees will be recognized at a Capitol Hill ceremony in May 2008.

The Washington, DC-based Environmental Law Institute has presented the National Wetlands Awards since 1989. The Awards program recognizes individuals who have demonstrated exceptional effort, innovation, and excellence in wetlands conservation at the regional, state, or local level. Past Award recipients share a dedication to protecting the nation’s remaining wetlands; educating citizens, students, and agencies about the value of wetlands; and working with a diverse array of organizations and interests to advance wetland protection. To learn more about previous Award winners please visit

The National Wetlands Awards Program is directed and managed by the Environmental Law Institute, and enjoys the sponsorship of the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, NOAA National Marine Fisheries Service, Natural Resources Conservation Service, USDA Forest Service, U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, and Federal Highway Administration. A committee of wetland experts representing federal and state agencies, academia, conservation groups, and private sector organizations selects the Award winners.

For a copy of the 2008 National Wetlands Awards nomination form, visit the National Wetlands Awards Web site. For more information on the program, contact Amanda Martin at (202) 939-3862 or e-mail You may also write to the National Wetlands Awards Program, Environmental Law Institute, 2000 L Street, NW, Suite 620, Washington, DC 20036.

Download Center

  • Monitoring and Reporting on Air Emissions for Regulators and the Real World

    When it comes to managing compliance and regulatory issues surrounding air emissions, there are no easy jobs. With interviews from practitioners from American Electric Power, Red Cedar Gathering, Trinity Consultants, and Cority, this eBook provides practical advice to advance your air emissions monitoring and reporting programs.

  • What Every EHS Professional Should Know About ESG

    Join experts from Arcadis and Cority on April 27th to learn the most common ESG reporting frameworks and how technology can help you improve reporting efficiency, identify areas for improvement, and create defensible audit trails.

  • Green Quadrant EHS Software 2021

    Read the new report by independent analyst firm, Verdantix, to get an unbiased comparison of the 22 most prominent EHS software vendors in the industry.

  • RFP Template for Waste Management Software

    Learn the essential questions to ask when evaluating waste management software solutions with this free, ready-to-use RFP template

  • 5 Keys to Best-in-Class Chemical Management

    Running a safe chemical program is challenging and complex: from knowing what's on-site to proper handling and disposal - all while navigating regulatory changes. Learn the best ways to mitigate chemical risk, get the most value out of your data, and gain buy-in for a chemical management solution.

Featured Webinar