2016 USGBC Leadership Awards Announced

Award winners will be honored at the Greenbuild International Conference and Expo early next month.

The U.S. Green Building Council on Sept. 29 announced the winners of its 2016 Leadership Awards. They'll be honored at the USGBC Leadership Awards Luncheon at the Greenbuild International Conference and Expo on Oct. 6 in Los Angeles.

"USGBC's annual Leadership Awards recognize some of the most dedicated and exceptional leaders in sustainability," said Rick Fedrizzi, CEO and founding chair of USGBC. "I am personally awed and inspired by each of this year's recipients and their contributions to our movement. These are the people whose contributions to USGBC and the green building industry are shaping the future of our world."

The recipients include:

  • Lucien and Gina Duncan, founders of Fondation Enfant Jesus. They founded FEJ to offer expanded humanitarian services for abandoned children and families and have established an impressive record of placing children in homes that provide loving care and support. FEJ will run USGBC's William Jefferson Clinton Children's Center in Port-au-Prince, Haiti.
  • Jason Dunlop, vice president of Big-D Signature Construction Management, former chair of USGBC Wyoming, and a longtime member of the USGBC Chapter Steering Committee, who is being recognized for his leadership and dedication to the growth and evolution of the USGBC Community organization.
  • Tony Gale, corporate architect of Starbucks, being honored for his collaboration with USGBC and his dedication to expanding Starbucks' sustainability model; the company has more than 1,000 LEED-certified stores in 20 countries, according to the council's announcement.
  • David Gottfried, CEO of Regenerative Ventures, the co-founder of USGBC and founder of the World Green Building Council.
  • Bill McDonough, chief executive of McDonough Innovation, a renowned architect and thought leader on sustainable development, and co-creator of the Cradle-to-Cradle Certified products program, a global standard for safe, healthy, and sustainable products.
  • Michelle Moore, CEO of Groundswell, a leader in the green building movement who previously worked as a senior executive at USGBC.
  • John Picard, founder and CEO of John Picard & Associates. A key consultant in the Greening of the White House under President Clinton, he is a founding member of USGBC.

Two additional Leadership Awards will be given at the USGBC Executive Luncheon on Oct. 5:

  • David Wade, president and chief operating office of EPB, will receive the second annual Galvin award, given to honor the legacy of former Motorola CEO Bob Galvin, after EPB utilized its community-wide fiber optic network to deploy the most advanced smart grid power management system in the country. It is the first major power distributor to earn PEER (Performance Excellence in Energy Renewal) certification.
  • Diageo will receive the Ray Anderson Radical Industrialism Award, given to a leader in the manufacturing sector whose commitment to and achievements in

Featured Webinar