Environmental Educators Presented with Presidential Innovation Award

Eleven teachers have been recognized by the White House Council on Environmental Quality and the EPA and are the winners of the 2013 Presidential Innovation Award for Environmental Educators.

Winners of the Presidential Innovation Awards have been awarded to eleven U.S. teachers who work in Environmental Education and strive to be environmental leaders for their students. The winners and their educational agencies will be given commemorative certificates and monetary awards to help continue the environmental curriculum in the schools and classrooms.

“The men and woman who are receiving this prestigious award have taken innovative steps to educate students about environmental stewardship and civic responsibility, and their work is a critical part of creating a cleaner, healthier and more sustainable future,” said EPA Acting Administrator Bob Perciasepe. “Thanks to their creative approaches to environmental education, students are developing a greater connection to the world around them – a skill that will benefit young people throughout their careers as they pursue the green jobs of the 21st century. At EPA, we are grateful to know that such exceptional educators are in American classrooms today.”

This year’s winners are:

  • Mary Breslin, George Washington Middle School, Alexandria, Va.
  • Jeanna Burroughs Goodson, Maiden High School, Maiden, N. C.
  • Dominick S. DeRosa, F.L.Schlagle High School, Kansas City, Kan.
  • Dominique Evans-Bye, Clark Magnet High School, La Crescenta, Calif.
  • Ralph Harrison, Science and Math Institute, Tacoma, Wash.
  • Lindsey Hoffman-Truxel, Barbara Morgan Elementary, McCall, Idaho
  •  Mary Marguerite Murphy, Camden Hills Regional High School, Rockport, Maine
  • Mary Catherine Padgett, Ford Elementary School, Acworth, Ga.
  • Carolyn Ruos Thomas, Wildwood Middle School, Shenandoah Junction, W. Va.
  • Mike Todd, Ames High School, Ames, Iowa
  • Anne Wiszowaty, North Shore Community School, Duluth, Minn.

The winning teachers were recognized for their environmental programs, such as watershed stewardship, recycling programs, and civic engagement opportunities for their students. To learn more about the program, please click here.

Download Center

  • Monitoring and Reporting on Air Emissions for Regulators and the Real World

    When it comes to managing compliance and regulatory issues surrounding air emissions, there are no easy jobs. With interviews from practitioners from American Electric Power, Red Cedar Gathering, Trinity Consultants, and Cority, this eBook provides practical advice to advance your air emissions monitoring and reporting programs.

  • What Every EHS Professional Should Know About ESG

    Join experts from Arcadis and Cority on April 27th to learn the most common ESG reporting frameworks and how technology can help you improve reporting efficiency, identify areas for improvement, and create defensible audit trails.

  • Green Quadrant EHS Software 2021

    Read the new report by independent analyst firm, Verdantix, to get an unbiased comparison of the 22 most prominent EHS software vendors in the industry.

  • RFP Template for Waste Management Software

    Learn the essential questions to ask when evaluating waste management software solutions with this free, ready-to-use RFP template

  • 5 Keys to Best-in-Class Chemical Management

    Running a safe chemical program is challenging and complex: from knowing what's on-site to proper handling and disposal - all while navigating regulatory changes. Learn the best ways to mitigate chemical risk, get the most value out of your data, and gain buy-in for a chemical management solution.

Featured Webinar