SMU, Florida Teams Win WEF Student Design Competition

Students from Southern Methodist University (SMU) and the University of Florida as winners of the 2010 Student Design Competition, according to the Water Environment Federation (WEF).

The ninth annual competition took place at WEFTEC® 2010, WEF's 83rd annual technical exhibition and conference, in New Orleans, La.
The SMU team’s project, “Settler’s Village Wastewater Treatment Plant Expansion” won in the wastewater design category and the University of Florida team's project, "Green Infrastructure Design for Pollutant Control from Transport Systems Crossing Land-Water Interfaces – A Bridge Too Far?” won in the environmental design category. This was the first win for SMU and the fifth win for the University of Florida in nine years.

A program of the WEF Students & Young Professionals Committee (SYPC), the competition promotes “real world” design experience for students interested in pursuing an education and/or career in water/wastewater engineering and sciences. It tasks individuals or teams of students within a WEF student chapter to prepare a design to help solve a local water quality issue. Teams evaluate alternatives, perform calculations, and recommend the most feasible solution based on experience, economics, and feasibility.

Members of the SMU team include Ruthanne Bruch, Valerie Lemmons, Shannon Silveira and their Design Team Sponsor, Juliene Ellis. Members of the University of Florida team include Stacey Smich, Haley Carter, Marie-Odile Fortier, Joseph Delesantro, Timothy English, Adam Marquez, Julie Midgette, David Brooks, Darryl Marois, Viet Nguyen, Wilton Mui and their faculty adviser, John Sansalone. Both teams received certificates and a $2,500 award from WEF Past President Jim Clark during a ceremony on Oct. 3.

Sponsored by Black & Veatch, CDM, Greeley and Hansen, and Parsons Brinckerhoff, this year’s competition was organized by SYPC Chair, Michelle Hatcher with assistance from Design Competition Co-Chair Lauren Zuravnsky and WEF staff liaison Dianne Crilley.

Featured Webinar