IWA Announces East Asia Water Project Winners

The International Water Association revealed the winners of its Project Innovations Awards during Aquatech China 2010. The East Asia PIA Regional Awards ceremony took place on June 4 in Shanghai.

The winners by award category are listed below.

Applied Research
Winner: Climate Change Adaptation through the Promotion of "Rain Cities" by SNU Rainwater Research Center, Suwon City, Namhae County, and Geomarine Co. (Republic of Korea).

Honor Awards: Iron-Based Adsorbents and Related Technologies for the Simultaneous Removal of As(III) and As(IV): Application for Drinking Water Treatment and Water Environment Remediation by Research Center for Eco-Environmental Sciences, Chinese Academy of Sciences (China).

Winner: Design and Construction of Reprovisioning of WSD Utilities and Infrastructure Works for Proposed Centennial Campus of the University of Hong Kong by Black & Veatch (Hong Kong SAR).

Honor Awards: The Air Flotation + Ultra-Filtration Water Treatment Plant in Macao, by The Macao Water Supply Co. Ltd. (Macao SAR)
YongIn YoungDuk Sewage Treatment Plant Project, by Kolon Engineering and Construction Ltd. (Republic of Korea).

Winner: Development of Time Integral Type Leakage Detector by Tokyo Suido Services Co. Ltd. (Japan)

Honor Awards: Creating Premium Seoul Tap Water – From “Clean & Safe Water” to “Tasty Water” by The Office of Waterworks, Seoul Metropolitan Government (Republic of Korea)

Winner: Taipei Water Department Leakage Control and Management by DMA Taipei Water Department (Chinese Taiwan)

Honor Awards: Zhangjiagang Free Trade Zone Sembcorp Co. Ltd. – An Integrated, Energy Saving, Zero Liquid Discharge and Sustainable Wastewater Treatment/Reclamation Project, by Zhangjiagang Sembcorp Ltd. (China)
To Implement the Basin of and Regional Management of Sewage Enterprises Through Construction and Operation of Small and Medium Sized Sewage Treatment Plant, by Beijing Capital Co. Ltd. (China).

Small Projects
Winner: The Development and Application of Innovative High Speed Biological Groundwater Treatment Technology by Nagaoka International Corporation (Japan).

Detailed descriptions of the East Asia winning projects, and a general brief on the IWA 2010 Project Innovation Awards, are available on the PIA Website.

The Project Innovation Awards Programme was established by the International Water Association in 2006 to recognize excellence and innovation in water engineering projects throughout the world. The Awards programme supports IWA’s goal to “connect water professionals worldwide to lead the development of effective and sustainable approaches to water management”. Amongst other criteria, project evaluation has been based on social, economic and sustainable design and the future value to the water engineering profession.

All East Asia winners and honor awardees will be advanced together with the winners and honor awardees of the Asia-Pacific, Europe and North America Regional Awards competition to compete for the PIA Global Grand Prize, which will be presented at the IWA World Water Congress in Montreal, Canada on September 22.

The Asia-Pacific Regional Awards Ceremony will be held on June 30 in Singapore at the Singapore International Water Week, while the European Regional Awards Ceremony was held earlier in Barcelona. The North America Regional Awards competition is conducted through the American Academy of Environmental Engineers (AAEE).

The 2010 Project Innovation Awards are sponsored by Beijing Capital, Black & Veatch, GHD, KWR, Malcolm Pirnie, Nagaoka International Corporation and SKM.

comments powered by Disqus