ACS Announces 2010 Officers; Charpentier to Lead Board

In a recent press release, the American Chemical Society (ACS) announced its slate of officers for 2010. They include the following:

  • Chair of the board of directors ─ Bonnie A. Charpentier, Ph.D., vice president, regulatory affairs, Metabolex, Inc., Hayward, Calif. An ACS board member since 2005, she is serving her second three-year term as District VI director, representing more than 17,000 chemical professionals living and working in the western United States and Canada.
  • President ─ Joseph S. Francisco, Ph.D., William E. Moore Distinguished Professor at Purdue University is 2010 president and will serve on the Board of Directors through 2011.
  • ACS President-Elect ─ Nancy B. Jackson, Ph.D., a chemical engineer and manager of the International Chemical Threat Reduction Department at Sandia National Laboratories in Albuquerque, N.M., is ACS president-elect. She began serving in this position earlier this month and will become ACS president on Jan. 1, 2011.
  • Immediate Past President ─ Thomas H. Lane, Ph.D., a retired chemist and former director of global science and technology outreach, Dow Corning Corp., Midland, Mich. Lane was ACS president in 2009 and will remain an ex officio member of the board through 2010.
  • Directors ─ Eric C. Bigham, Ph.D., a retired chemist and former manager for discovery research and development at GlaxoSmithKline, Chapel Hill, N.C.; William F. Carroll, Jr., Ph.D., vice president at Occidental Chemical Corp. in Dallas, Texas; Dennis Chamot, Ph.D., an associate executive director of the National Research Council’s Division on Engineering and Physical Sciences, Washington, D.C.; Pat N. Confalone, Ph.D., vice president, Global Research & Development, Crop Protection, Agriculture and Nutrition Platform, with DuPont in Wilmington, Del.; Peter K. Dorhout, Ph.D., vice provost for graduate affairs and assistant vice president for research at Colorado State University in Fort Collins; Janan M. Hayes, Ph.D., retired chemist, faculty member and administrator at Merced College, Merced, Calif.; Neil D. Jespersen, Ph.D., professor of chemistry at St. John’s University in New York, residing in Port Washington; Valerie J. Kuck, a chemist and former staff member at Lucent Technologies – AT&T Bell Labs; Diane Grob Schmidt, Ph.D., a chemist and section head at Procter & Gamble Co., Cincinnati, Ohio; Kent. J. Voorhees, Ph.D., a professor of chemistry at the Colorado School of Mines in Golden; Marinda Li Wu, Ph.D., a chemist and founder and president of the Science is Fun! Company in Orinda, Calif.

The American Chemical Society is a nonprofit organization chartered by the U.S. Congress. With more than 161,000 members, ACS is the world’s largest scientific society and a global leader in providing access to chemistry-related research through its multiple databases, peer-reviewed journals and scientific conferences. Its main offices are in Washington, D.C., and Columbus, Ohio.

comments powered by Disqus