WEF Members Send Young Scientists to National Contest

The Water Environment Federation recently announced the 2009 state winners of the U.S. Stockholm Junior Water Prize (SJWP) – the most prestigious youth award for a water-related science project.

WEF Member Associations selected and will sponsor state winners and their science teachers to attend the national competition, hosted by the Alaska Water Wastewater Management Association, from June 25-27, 2009 at the University of Alaska in Anchorage.

The purpose of the SJWP program is to increase students’ interest in water-related issues and research and to raise awareness about global water challenges. The competition is open to projects aimed at enhancing the quality of life through improvement of water quality, water resources management, water protection, and water and wastewater treatment.

“Leadership is what separates communities that are successfully addressing water and sanitation needs from those that are not,” said WEF Executive Director Bill Bertera. “The Stockholm Junior Water Prize continues to be an excellent program for helping today’s youth become the global leaders we’ll need to protect our water resources for future generations.”

The U.S. winner will receive $3,000 (USD) and an all-expense-paid trip to Stockholm, Sweden for the international competition as well as the opportunity to present their research to water quality experts at WEFTEC®.09, the Federation’s 82nd annual technical exhibition and conference, this October in Orlando, Fla. In addition, the U.S. winner’s school will receive $1,000 toward enhancing science education and up to three finalists will receive $1,000 each.

In the United States, WEF and its Member Associations organize the national, state, and regional SJWP competitions with support from ITT Corporation (also the international sponsor), The Coca-Cola Company, and Delta Air Lines.

The national winner will represent the United States at the international competition in Stockholm, Sweden during World Water Week, August 16-22, 2009. The international winner will receive $5,000 (USD) presented during a royal ceremony by the prize’s Patron HRH Crown Princess Victoria of Sweden.