EPA Adds 9 Sites to National Priorities List

The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency is adding nine new hazardous waste sites that pose risks to human health and the environment to the National Priorities List of Superfund sites. Also, the agency is proposing to add 13 other sites.

Superfund is the federal program that investigates and cleans up the most complex, uncontrolled or abandoned hazardous waste sites in the country.

To date, there have been 1,596 sites listed on the NPL. Of these sites, 332 sites have been deleted resulting in 1,264 final sites currently on the NPL. With the proposal of the 13 new sites, there are 67 proposed sites awaiting final agency action: 62 in the general Superfund section and five in the federal facilities section. There are a total of 1,331 final and proposed sites.

Contaminants found at the final and proposed sites include arsenic, asbestos, barium, cadmium, carbon tetrachloride, chloromethane, chromium, copper, dichloroethene, lead, mercury, polychlorinated biphenyls, polycyclic aromatic hydrocarbons, selenium, silver, sulfuric acid, tetrachloroethene, trichloroethane, trichloroethene (TCE), vinyl chloride, and zinc.

With all Superfund sites, EPA tries to identify and locate the parties potentially responsible for the contamination. For the newly listed sites without viable potentially responsible parties, EPA will investigate the full extent of the contamination before starting significant cleanup at the site. Therefore, it may be several years before significant cleanup funding is required for these sites.

Federal Register notices and supporting documents for these final and proposed sites can be found at http://www.epa.gov/superfund/sites/npl/current.htm

These sites have been added to the National Priorities List:

Raleigh Street Dump (Tampa, Fla.)
Arkla Terra Property (Thonotosassa, Fla.)
U.S. Smelter and Lead Refinery, Inc. (East Chicago, Ind.)
Fort Detrick Area B Ground Water (Frederick, Md.)
Behr Dayton Thermal System VOC Plume (Dayton, Ohio)
New Carlisle Landfill (New Carlisle, Ohio)
BoRit Asbestos (Ambler, Pa.)
Barite Hill/Nevada Goldfields (McCormick, S.C.)
Attebury Grain Storage Facility (Happy, Texas)

These sites have been proposed to the National Priorities List:

General Dynamics Longwood (Longwood, Fla.)
Lane Street Ground Water Contamination (Elkhart, Ind.)
Southwest Jefferson County Mining (Jefferson County, Mo.)
Flat Creek IMM (Superior, Mont.)
Ore Knob Mine (Ashe County, N.C.)
GMH Electronics (Roxboro, N.C.)
Raritan Bay Slag (Old Bridge/Sayreville, N.J.)
Gowanus Canal (Brooklyn, N.Y.)
Little Scioto River (Marion County, Ohio)
Foster Wheeler Energy Corporation/Church Road TCE (Mountain Top, Pa.)
Papelera Puertorriqueña, Inc. (Utuado, Puerto Rico)
Peck Iron and Metal (Portsmouth, Va.)
Amcast Industrial Corporation (Cedarburg, Wis.)