A&WMA to Honor Top Environmental Professionals

Each year, the Air & Waste Management Association (A&WMA) honors top environmental professionals for outstanding accomplishments and leadership in environmental service. This year's awards will be presented June 18 at A&WMA's 102nd Annual Conference & Exhibition (ACE) in Detroit, Mich.

The Charles W. Gruber Association Leadership Award is presented to an A&WMA member who has provided outstanding service to the association through leadership positions both internationally and locally. The recipient is Detroit resident George T. Wolff, past director and vice president of A&WMA. A member since 1970, Wolff has served on the Journal's Editorial Review Board, Publications Committee, Association's Planning Committee, as a Technical Program chair, and participated on the strategic planning sessions that lead to the renaming of the Association from the Air Pollution Control Association to the Air & Waste Management Association.

The Frank A. Chambers Excellence in Air Pollution Control Award is presented to an individual with outstanding achievement in the science and art of air pollution control. The recipient is William C. Malm, Ph.D., research physicist in the National Park Service Air Resources Division in Fort Collins, Colo., where he is also program coordinator for the visibility/particulate research and monitoring program. He earned this award for his research contributions in the areas of visibility and air quality.

The winner of the Richard Beatty Mellon Environmental Stewardship Award, which honors an individual whose civic contributions have aided in the association's mission and objectives, is F. Henry Habicht II, who has an extensive environmental and energy background in both the public and private sectors. He currently serves as managing partner of SAIL Venture Partners in Arlington, Va., a leading venture capital fund investing in leading-edge clean energy, water, and related technologies.

The S. Smith Griswold Outstanding Air Pollution Control Official Award is presented for outstanding accomplishments in the prevention and control of air pollution. The recipient is John A. Paul, administrator for the Regional Air Pollution Control Agency, Dayton, Ohio, where he has served for 35 years; the past 23 years as agency director.

The Lyman A. Ripperton Environmental Educator Award will be presented to William A. Auberle, P.E., CEE, QEP, professor of civil and environmental engineering at Northern Arizona University's College of Engineering and Natural Sciences, Flagstaff, Ariz. Auberle serves as research director of the Ecological Monitoring & Assessment Program, while teaching undergraduate and graduate courses in environmental engineering and management.

The Outstanding Young Professional Award honors an individual 35 years of age or younger who is pursuing excellence in their career and has made a valuable contribution to A&WMA by serving in a leadership position. There are two recipients of this award: Ferdinand Alido, CHMM, manager of environmental affairs, Navistar, Inc., Warrenville, Ill.; and Fawn Bergen, P.E., senior consulting engineer, Koogler and Associates Inc., Gainesville, Fla.

Additional awards include the Waste Management Award, awarded to Global Engine Manufacturing Alliance LLC, Dundee, Mich.; and the J. Deane Sensenbaugh Environmental Technology Award, awarded to Thermo Fisher Scientific.

For more information, visit www.awma.org/go/honorsandawards09.

Download Center

  • Waste Management in 2021: Accelerate Your Success with Technology

    Join waste management experts on February 23rd for a live best practice session webinar. You’ll learn how to take your waste program to the next level with visual location, barcoding, and mobility. Register now.

  • Green Quadrant EHS Software 2021

    Reserve your copy of the new report by independent analyst firm, Verdantix, to get a detailed, fact-based comparison of the 22 most prominent EHS software vendors in the industry.

  • Your Guide to Environmental Metrics that Drive Performance

    Translating sustainability into action starts with implementing the right metrics to assess your environmental risk and performance. Learn how to design metrics that improve your decision-making process and drive enterprise performance.

  • 5 Keys to Best-in-Class Chemical Management

    Running a safe chemical program is challenging and complex: from knowing what's on-site to proper handling and disposal - all while navigating regulatory changes. Learn the best ways to mitigate chemical risk, get the most value out of your data, and gain buy-in for a chemical management solution.

  • Unpacking ESG: 6 Questions You Were Too Afraid to Ask

    Environmental and Sustainability experts from Arcadis and Cority answer 6 of the most pressing questions EHS professionals have about getting started with Environmental, Social, and Governance (ESG) reporting.

  • Industry Safe