Hydraulic Institute Names Board, Member of the Year

Hydraulic Institute, the pump industry's knowledge leader and resource for pump education, announced its 2009 board of directors and officers during a general session at the 92nd Annual Meeting held in Marco Island, Fla.

Bill Waltz, president of the Flow Technologies Division of Pentair Water, was named chair. Dennis Ziegler, president and chief executive officer of GIW Industries, was elected president while Steve Oswald, president of the Industrial Division of Hamilton Sundstrand Corp., was elected vice president of Member Services, and Ken Napolitano, president of ITT Industrial Process, was elected vice president of Knowledge & Education.

Dave McKinstry, vice president of IMO Pump, was re-elected to serve as vice president of Technical Affairs until 2010.

The institute honored Randy Ferman, manager of R&D for Flowserve’s Pump Division, as 2008 Member of the Year.

He served as chair of the Hydraulic Institute/Pump Systems Matter “Optimizing Pumping Systems” Guidebook (OPS) Committee, leading to publication in 2008 of the 200+ page guide in less than two years. The guide has made a significant contribution to the understanding of the subject matter among end-users and pump OEMs and serves as the basis of new educational curriculum.

Ferman served as chair and actively participated in numerous other organization initiatives.

“Randy has made major contributions to the Institute, with a high level of energy and enthusiasm, including a broad breadth of participation in numerous initiatives,” said Gregg Romanyshyn, technical director for the Hydraulic Institute. “He offers sound ideas and solid leadership to move standards from concept to completion, managing volunteer committees in a very effective manner.”

The Hydraulic Institute is the largest association of pump producers and suppliers to the pump industry in North America and is a global authority on pumps and pumping systems.

Featured Webinar