EPA Names 2008 National Clean Water Act Award Winners

On Oct. 20, the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) announced the 2008 National winners of the Clean Water Act Recognition Awards during the Water Environment Federation's Technical Exposition and Conference (WEFTEC), in Chicago, Ill. This is the 23rd year of the program and the 22nd year EPA recognized municipalities and industries for outstanding and creative technological achievements in wastewater treatment and pollution abatement programs.

Benjamin Grumbles, EPA’s Assistant Administrator for Water, presented 24 inscribed plaques to first- and second-place national winners for demonstrated outstanding water quality achievements for projects and programs in five award categories:

• Outstanding programs and projects in Operations and Maintenance

• Exemplary Biosolids management,

• Municipal implementation and enforcement of local Pretreatment programs,

• Cost-effective Stormwater controls, and

• Combined Sewer Overflow Controls.

The winners appear below:

O&M First Place
F. Wayne Hill Water Resources Center, Buford, Ga., EPA Region 4: Large Advanced Plant

El Paso Water Utilities Public Service Board, Northwest Wastewater Treatment Facility, El Paso, Texas, EPA Region 6: Large Advanced Plant

City of Newnan -- Wahoo Creek Water Pollution Control Plant, Newnan, Ga., EPA Region 4: Medium Advanced Plant

Waterville Wastewater Treatment Facility, Waterville, N.Y., EPA Region 2: Small Advanced Plant

Joint Water Pollution Control Plant, Carson, Calif., EPA Region 9: Large Secondary Plant

Southside Wastewater Treatment Plant, City of Vidalia, ESG Operations, Ga., EPA Region 4: Medium Non-Discharging Plant

The Manor Water Reclamation Facilit, Alpharetta, Ga., EPA Region 4: Small Non-Discharging Plant

Bristol, N.H. Wastewater Treatment Plant, Bristol, N.H., EPA Region 1: Most Improved Plant

O&M Second Place
Central Contra Costa Sanitary District, Martinez, Calif., EPA Region 9: Large Secondary Plant

Grandville Wastewater Treatment Plant, Grandville, Mich., EPA Region 5: Medium Advanced Plant

Douglasville-Douglas County Water and Sewer Authority, Beaver Estates Water Pollution Control Plant Douglasville, Ga., EPA Region 4: Small Advanced Plant

Exemplary Biosolids Management
Biosolids First Place
Lawrence Municipal Wastewater Treatment Facility, Lawrence, Kan., EPA Region 7: Large Operating Projects

Tahlequah Public Works Authority Compost Operation, Tahlequah, Okla., EPA Region 6: Small Operating Projects

Metropolitan Water Reclamation District of Greater Chicago, Chicago, Ill., EPA Region 5: Public Acceptance

Biosolids Second Place
Spencer Creek Wastewater Treatment Plant, Organic Resource Recycling Program St. Peters, Mo., EPA Region 7: Large Operating Projects

Pretreatment Program
Pretreatment First Place
Union Sanitary District, Union City, Calif., EPA Region 9: Greater Than 21 Significant Industrial Users (SIUs)

Sam Hobbs Regional Wastewater Treatment Plant, Casper, Wyo., EPA Region 8: 6-20 SIUs

St. Johns County Utilities Pretreatment Program, St. Augustine, Fla., EPA Region 4: 0-5 SIUs

Pretreatment Second Place
Laguna Subregional Reclamation Facility, Santa Rosa, Calif., EPA Region 9: Greater Than 21 SIUs

South Valley Water Reclamation Facility Pretreatment Program, West Jordan, Utah, EPA Region 8: 6-20 SIUs

Stormwater Management
Stormwater First Place
County of Sacramento Commercial/Industrial Stormwater, Compliance Program Sacramento, Calif., EPA Region 9: Industrial Program

Stormwater First Place
Rogue Valley Sewer Services, Central Point, Ore., EPA Region 10: Municipal Program

Stormwater Second Place
Keep It Clean Partnership -- City of Boulder, Town of Erie, City of Longmont, City of Louisville, Town of Superior, Municipal Program and Boulder County, Colo., EPA Region 8

Combined Sewer Overflow Control
CSO First Place
Village of Metamora Wastewater Collection Separation, Metamora, Ohio, EPA Region 5: Municipal CSO Program

The awards program is authorized by Section 501(a) and (e) of the Clean Water Act. It provides national recognition and encourages public support of programs aimed at protecting the public’s health and safety and the nation’s water quality. A regulation at 40 CFR part 105 establishes the framework to implement the awards recognition program.

EPA regional offices make recommendations to headquarters for the national awards. Programs and projects being recognized have undergone water quality compliance screenings and have a satisfactory record with respect to environmental quality.

Featured Webinar