Deadline for EPA Regional Award Nominations Is June 30

The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency's mid-Atlantic region will accept nominations until June 30 for a first-ever set of environmental achievement awards.

The agency is encouraging people to nominate individuals and groups making significant contributions to help public health and the environment in Delaware, Maryland, Pennsylvania, Virginia, West Virginia, or the District of Columbia.

The EPA Mid-Atlantic Environmental Achievement Awards will be presented in three categories: a non-profit or volunteer organization, a business/industry, and a state, local, or federal government agency.

Selections will be based on the following criteria:

• Significant sustained, measurable, and replicable environmental results for a clearly defined environmental issue. These environmental results should relate to reducing pollution and/or protecting public health and the environment.

• Innovative ideas, approaches, techniques, and/or technologies.

• Demonstrated leadership and outreach to others.

An EPA panel will review the nominations and select the winners. The agency will hold an awards ceremony at its regional office in Philadelphia on Sept. 18.

For more information, visit

Featured Webinar