AIHA announces its 2005 award winners for outstanding OEHS achievements

The American Industrial Hygiene Association (AIHA) announced its 2005 award winners on April 25. Recipients of AIHA awards demonstrate exceptional accomplishments and provide significant contributions to the industrial hygiene and occupational and environmental health and safety (OEHS) profession. AIHA will recognize the winners at the American Industrial Hygiene Conference and Exposition (AIHce) 2005 in Anaheim, California.

"It is my pleasure to acknowledge AIHA members who have performed with dedication and commitment to enhance the industrial hygiene profession," said Donna Doganiero, CIH, AIHA president. "The winners of these awards deserve to be recognized in front of their peers as a result of their extraordinary accomplishments."

AIHA award recipients are:

Frederick W. Boelter, CIH, PE
Edward J. Baier Technical Achievement Award

Established in 1984 in honor of Edward J. Baier, this award is presented by Clayton Group Services. The Edward J. Baier Technical Achievement Award is presented to the individual, company, academic institution, organization or association that has made the most significant contribution to industrial hygiene in recent years.

This year's recipient is Frederick W. Boelter, CIH, PE. He has been instrumental in incorporating new advances in exposure assessment strategies and modeling, retrospective exposure assessments and dose determinations, statistics and software development and use into the science of risk assessment. This award will be presented at the AIHA Annual Business Meeting on Thursday, May 26.

S.Z. "Zack" Mansdorf, PhD, CIH, CSP, QEP
Donald E. Cummings Memorial Award

The Donald E. Cummings Memorial Award was established in 1943 as a tribute to Donald E. Cummings, AIHA's third president. It is given for outstanding contributions to the knowledge and practice of the industrial hygiene profession. This year's Cummings Award recipient, S.Z. "Zack" Mansdorf, PhD, CIH, CSP, QEP, is honored for his many years of contributions to the profession through writing, teaching, training, service and support at the local, national and international levels. This award will be presented at the General Session on Monday, May 23.

Jas Singh, PhD, CIH
AIHA Distinguished Service Award

The AIHA Distinguished Service Award was established in 1978 to recognize distinguished service in the advancement of industrial hygiene and to recognize unique technical contributions that align with the goals of AIHA. The basis for selection includes accomplishments with excellence in any aspect of industrial hygiene.

This year's recipient is Jas Singh, PhD, CIH, whose contributions assisted in the establishment of an industrial hygiene office and laboratory in Malaysia and have positively affected legislation relating to industrial hygiene in that country. This award will be presented at the AIHA Annual Business Meeting on Thursday, May 26.

Joseph Barry Graffeo, CIH
Kusnetz Award

The Kusnetz Award was established in 1987 and is named for its donors, Florence Kusnetz and AIHA Past President Howard Kusnetz. This award honors a certified industrial hygienist who is under 40 years old, is employed in the private sector, and exhibits high ethical standards and technical abilities in the OEHS profession.

This year's Kusnetz Award recipient is Joseph Barry Graffeo, CIH, for his leadership, dedication, and ethical behavior in his work at Eli Lilly and Co. He has been involved with the Exposure Assessment Strategies Committee for the past seven years, and his active participation and leadership have contributed to the success of the committee and the Exposure Assesment Strategies and Statistics professional development course. This award will be presented at the AIHA Annual Business Meeting on Thursday, May 26.

Dr. Abu Bakar Che' Man
William P. Yant Award

The William P. Yant Award was established in 1964 to commemorate the leadership and breadth of contributions to industrial hygiene of William P. Yant, ScD, first president of AIHA. Sponsored by the Mine Safety Appliances Company, the award is presented for outstanding contributions in industrial hygiene or allied fields to an individual residing outside the United States.

This year's Yant Award winner is Dr. Abu Bakar Che' Man, a leading figure and pioneer in industrial hygiene in Malaysia. This award will be presented at the General Session on Monday, May 23.

Nominations for awards are solicited beginning in late summer, with a deadline of December 1. The AIHA Awards Committee makes its selection in January and awards are given at AIHce each year.

For more information regarding the AIHA awards program, please contact Andrea Stearman at (703) 846-0702 or or Rachel Parsons at (703) 846-0740 or

This article originally appeared in the 04/01/2005 issue of Environmental Protection.

Featured Webinar