Environmental Leadership Awards Winners Announced

Governor Edmund G. Brown Jr. has announced 17 companies and organizations as the winners of the Governor’s Environmental and Economic Leadership Award (GEELA), which is the highest environmental honor in California.

The GEELA awards, which were announced on Jan. 22, honors companies, organizations, and individuals for their contributions made to California by creating environmentally friendly practices and contributing to the local community. The 17 winners for 2012 accepted their awards at a ceremony at the California Environmental Protection Agency in Sacramento.

“The award recognizes our responsibility to create a sustainable environment while promoting a vibrant economy,” said Secretary for Environmental Protection Matt Rodriquez. “These 17 public and private entities are showing us the way forward. Their unique approach shows how, given a challenge, California’s businesses, non-profit organizations and governments can rise to the occasion.”

Here are the 2012 GEELA winners:

· Aquarium of the Pacific

· Joseph Gallo Farms

· General Dynamics NASSCO

· The City of San Diego

· The County of Sonoma

· The City of Richmond and transMETRO, Inc.

· The University of California Centers for Environmental Implications of Nanotechnology

· Environmental Defense Fund

· San Francisco Giants

· Mattole Restoration Council

· Ecology Action

· Wildwoods Foundation

· Sapphos Environmental, Inc.

· State of California, Department of General Services

· Alameda-Contra Costa Transit

· U.S. Navy Region Southwest

· Country of Santa Cruz

For more information, or too see which categories the winners were selected for, please click here.