IWA Identifies Winning European Water Engineering Projects

Winners of the IWA Project Innovations Awards were revealed May 10 in an awards ceremony in Barcelona.

The winners by award category are:

Applied Research

Winner: IGS™ Technology – An Innovative, Cost Effective & Environmentally Friendly Ozone Generation Process by Degrémont Technologies Ltd – Ozonia in Switzerland.

Honor Awards: The Sustainable Life Cycle of Polyethylene by Suez Environnement SA in France; and Cryocore: Air Sampling by Cryogenic Condensation. A Very Near Future from AGBAR in Spain.


Winner: Sustainable Drinking Water Production: Recovery & Use of Water-Based Methane by Vitens/Royal Haskoning in The Netherlands.


Winner: COWAMA (Coastal Water Management) from CLABSA (AGBAR) in Spain.


Winner: Demand for Water in the 2050s from Environment Agency in the United Kingdom.

Small Projects

Winner: Micro Metering District Area Enabler from EMUASA in Spain.

Honor Award: Ice Pigging Technology to Clean Potable Water Mains from AGBAR in the United Kingdom.

For more project details, visit www.iwa.pia.org.

The Project Innovation Awards Programme (PIA) was established by the International Water Association in 2006 to recognize excellence and innovation in water engineering projects throughout the world. The awards program supports IWA’s goal to “connect water professionals worldwide to lead the development of effective and sustainable approaches to water management.” Among other criteria, project evaluation has been based on social, economic, and sustainable design, and future value to the water engineering profession.

All European winners and honor awardees will be advanced together with the winners and honor awardees of the East Asia, Asia-Pacific and North America. Regional award winners will compete for the global award at the IWA World Water Congress in Montreal, Canada on Sept. 22.

The East Asia Regional Awards Ceremony will be held June 4 in Shanghai, China and the Asia-Pacific Regional Awards Ceremony will be held on June 30 in Singapore at the Singapore International Water Week. The North America Regional Awards competition is conducted through the American Academy of Environmental Engineers.

The 2010 Project Innovation Awards are sponsored by Beijing Capital, Black & Veatch, GHD, KWR, Malcolm Pirnie, Nagaoka International Corporation and SKM.

The International Water Association is a global reference point for water professionals, spanning the continuum between research and practice and covering all facets of the water cycle.

comments powered by Disqus