35 Midwest Communities Sign on for Lower Footprints

U.S. Environmental Protection Agency Region 5 said 35 Midwest communities have joined its Community Climate Change Initiative and committed to take action to reduce their town’s carbon footprint.

“Local governments play a critical role in addressing climate change,” said Cheryl Newton, EPA regional Air Division director. "Reducing greenhouse gases will not only help the environment, it will also help communities and citizens reduce waste and improve their bottom line by saving on energy costs."

Those communities are:

  • Illinois –Alton, Bellwood, Carbondale, Des Plaines, Evanston, Evergreen Park, Gilberts, Hoffman Estates, Niles, Oak Park, Orland Park, Rock Island, Schaumburg, Urbana, Warrenville and Westmont;
  • Indiana – Fort Wayne, Indianapolis, Michigan City and West Lafayette;
  • Michigan – Delta Township and Kalamazoo;
  • Minnesota – Apple Valley, Falcon Heights, Northfield, Oakdale, Roseville, Sauk Rapids and St. Cloud;
  • Ohio – Cleveland, Columbus, East Palestine and Rittman; and
  • Wisconsin – Bayfield and Waukesha.

EPA Region 5 launched the Community Climate Change Initiative in 2009, calling on communities to join one of six EPA climate change partnership programs: Energy Star Challenge, WasteWise, WaterSense, Combined Heat and Power, Green Power Partnership, and Landfill Methane Outreach Program.

These programs offer free resources to help communities address climate change while protecting human health and the environment, enhancing local economies, and reducing energy costs.

comments powered by Disqus