Associations Honor 28 Solid Waste Industry Professionals

More than two dozen men and women in the solid waste industry were honored for their service to the field at a special awards ceremony on June 9, sponsored by the Environmental Industry Associations (EIA), the National Solid Wastes Management Association (NSWMA), and the Waste Equipment Technology Association (WASTEC).

EIA is the trade association representing the waste and recycling services and equipment industry throughout the United States through its two sub-associations, NSWMA and WASTEC. NSWMA represents for-profit companies that provide solid, hazardous, and medical waste collection, recycling, and waste disposal services, and companies that provide professional and consulting services to the waste services industry. WASTEC represents companies that design, build, distribute, service, and consult with respect to the equipment and technology systems that are used to collect, contain, transport, store, process, recycle, treat, and dispose of the world's solid wastes and recyclable materials.

"We are honored to recognize these 28 individuals," said Bruce Parker, president and chief executive officer of EIA and NSWMA. "These committed professionals have demonstrated outstanding achievements in advancing the reputation of our industry as service oriented, safety conscious, and environmentally innovative."

Those honored include:

EIA Driver of the Year
Jean Alexandre, Veolia SE Solid Waste (Palm Beach, Fla.) – Large Residential Category
Richard DeFelice, East Coast Resources (Richmond, Va.) – Small Industrial Category
Kenneth Hunnicutt, City of Fresno Department of Public Utilities (Fresno, Ca.) – Public Sector Category
Sean Jollon, Mr. T Carting Corp (Glendale, N.Y.) – Small Commercial Category
Donald Lederer, Republic Services, Inc. (Lake Havasu City, Ariz) – Large Commercial Category
John Thomas, Republic Services, Inc. (Henderson, Nev.) – Large Industrial Category
Larry Upshaw, Cardinal Sanitation (Tyrone, Ga.) – Small Residential Category

EIA Hall of Fame
Richard Gagnon, The Master Garbologist and Full Cycle Composting (Westfield, Mass.)
Mike Knaub, Schaefer Systems International (Charlotte, N.C.)
John McLaughlin, Scranton Manufacturing (Scranton, Iowa)
Thomas B. Rumpke (posthumously), Rumpke Consolidated Companies (Cincinnati, Ohio)
William J. Rumpke, Sr., Rumpke Consolidated Companies (Cincinnati, Ohio)

EIA Special Trustee Award
Mike Cordesman, Republic Services, Inc. (Phoenix, Ariz.)
Mike Paine, Paine's, Inc. (East Granby, Conn.)

NSWMA Distinguished Service Award
William Flower, Republic Services, Inc. (Phoenix, Ariz.)
Stephen Smith, Hydro Geo Chem (Scottsdale, Ariz.)

NSWMA Member of the Year Award Mary Margaret Cowhey, Land and Lakes (Park Ridge, Ill.)
Dominick Incantalupo, Chelsea Sanitation Service (Kearny, N.J.)

NSWMA Special Governor's Award
James Amick, Republic Services, Inc. (Charlotte, N.C. and S.C.)
Gino Dugan, Republic Services, Inc. (Revere, Mass.)
Max Goolsby, Republic Services, Inc. (Mapleton, Ga.)
Julie Ketchum, Waste Management (St. Paul, Minn.)
Thomas Toscano, Mr. T Carting Corp. (Glendale, N.Y.)

WASTEC Distinguished Service Award
Tim Foster, Foster Hydraulics, Inc. (Louisville, Ky.)

WASTEC Employee of the Year
Tom Bailey, Marathon Equipment Co. (Vernon, Alabama) – in Sales
Morris Marlow, Schaefer Systems International (Charlotte, N.C.) – in Engineering
Matt Stepinski, Otto Environmental Systems North America (Eloy, Ariz.) – in Production

WASTEC Member of the Year Award
David Malter, Malter Associates, Inc. (Bull Valley, Ill.)

comments powered by Disqus